True Crime & Mayhem

Waiting for a third season of Making a Murderer (fingers crossed)? Check out some of these other fascinating cases from our True Crime section. From serial killers to forensics, Jack the Ripper to cybercrimes, this category is always an engrossing look into human nature, society, law enforcement and the justice system.

True Crime books

Staff Pick Badge
The Lampshade: A Holocaust Detective Story from Buchenwald to New Orleans Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781416566281
Availability: Not in stock at store. Will, in most instances, ship from our warehouse in 7-10 days
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 19th, 2011

This story is almost too crazy to believe! In the wake of Katrina, a lampshade made of human skin is discovered in New Orleans. Author Mark Jacobson comes into possession of this horrifying object, and starts investigating its origins. Through the mystery of the lampshade, he tells a story of the Holocaust, New Orleans, Katrina, and Israel. For readers who loved The Orchid Thief and Devil in the White City, and for fans of Jon Krakauer, comes an amazing work of nonfiction not to be missed!--Sarah B.


Staff Pick Badge
People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo--and the Evil That Swallowed Her Up Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780374230593
Availability: Not in stock at store. Will, in most instances, ship from our warehouse in 7-10 days
Published: FSG Originals - May 22nd, 2012

I never thought I could learn so much from a True Crime book! In People Who Eat Darkness Richard Lloyd Parry tells the story of Lucie Blackman, a young British woman who disappeared while working in one of Tokyo's hostess clubs, and the frantic search to find her. Parry also tells us the story of the man responsible for her disappearance, and at the same time illuminates many aspects of Japanese culture that had a hand in this crime. Very entertaining, interesting and well written!--Sarah B
 


Staff Pick Badge
A Thousand Lives: The Untold Story of Jonestown Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781416596400
Availability: Not in stock at store. Will, in most instances, ship from our warehouse in 7-10 days
Published: Free Press - November 13th, 2012

When Julia Scheeres started to do research for a novel she wanted to write about a religious cult, she knew the Jonestown Massacre would provide relevant material. But as she looked into the recently released FBI and CIA files on Jim Jones and his church, The People's Temple, she realized that this was the story she needed to tell. A Thousand Lives is an amazing book not just because of Scheeres impeccable research, but because she tells the story from the perspective of individual Temple members. She shows us how a diverse group of 918 people fell under Jones’ spell—moving with him to Guyana, dying for him— and how only a lucky few survived. —Sarah B.


The Last Book on the Left: Stories of Murder and Mayhem from History’s Most Notorious Serial Killers Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781328566317
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - April 7th, 2020

The Irishman (Movie Tie-In): Frank Sheeran and Closing the Case on Jimmy Hoffa Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781586422479
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Steerforth - October 15th, 2019

American Sherlock: Murder, Forensics, and the Birth of American CSI Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525539551
Availability: Not in stock at store. Will, in most instances, ship from our warehouse in 7-10 days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 11th, 2020

The Man from the Train: Discovering America's Most Elusive Serial Killer Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781476796260
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Scribner - October 9th, 2018

The Manson Women and Me: Monsters, Morality, and Murder Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780806538594
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Citadel - February 26th, 2019

Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780393322231
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - December 17th, 2001

American Predator: The Hunt for the Most Meticulous Serial Killer of the 21st Century Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525428640
Availability: Not in stock at store. Will, in most instances, ship from our warehouse in 7-10 days
Published: Viking - July 2nd, 2019

I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer Cover Image
By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062319791
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Harper Perennial - February 26th, 2019

Sons of Cain: A History of Serial Killers from the Stone Age to the Present Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780425276976
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Berkley - August 14th, 2018

The Third Rainbow Girl: The Long Life of a Double Murder in Appalachia Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316449236
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Hachette Books - January 21st, 2020

A Rip in Heaven Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780451210531
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Berkley - June 1st, 2004

My Friend Dahmer Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419702174
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Harry N. Abrams - March 1st, 2012

Staff Pick Badge
The Kill Jar: Obsession, Descent, and a Hunt for Detroit's Most Notorious Serial Killer Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501190001
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Gallery Books - February 26th, 2019

WARNING: Not for the faint of heart! Appelman investigates a series of unsolved child murders that took place in Detroit in the 70s. Along the way he dives into the darkness of his own family history, and uncovers unspeakable abuses of power committed by Michigan's powerful elites.--Sarah B.


Lady Killers: Deadly Women Throughout History Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062433732
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Harper Perennial - October 10th, 2017

Stay Sexy & Don't Get Murdered: The Definitive How-To Guide Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250178954
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Forge Books - May 28th, 2019

El Jefe: The Stalking of Chapo Guzmán Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250254504
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Flatiron Books - August 25th, 2020