If You Loved... "Kafka On The Shore"

you may like...

Staff Pick Badge
Daughter from the Dark: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062916211
Availability: Not in stock at store. Will, in most instances, ship from our warehouse in 7-10 days
Published: Harper Voyager - February 11th, 2020

If you liked Murakami’s novel particularly due to its musical motifs, you may enjoy Daughter From the Dark by Marina & Sergey Dyachenko. The authors, a married couple from Russia, invent a surreal, whimsical tale with subtle homages to the story of the Pied Piper, whose tone is very much in keeping with that of Murakami’s world.--Griffin


Staff Pick Badge
Steppenwolf: A Novel Cover Image
By Hermann Hesse, Basil Creighton (Translated by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780312278670
Availability: Not in stock at store. Will, in most instances, ship from our warehouse in 7-10 days
Published: Picador - December 6th, 2002

If you were drawn to Kafka on the Shore’s arc of a young man discovering himself through contact with a new, unknown dimension, you might try Hermann Hesse’s classic novel Steppenwolf. Hesse’s book, published first in 1927, follows a misanthropic young man named Harry Haller as he discovers a magic theatre and penetrates its secrets, hoping to find serenity and transcendence within. The book was a big hit with the counterculture movement of the 1960s, and indeed, it’s a total trip!--Griffin


Staff Pick Badge
Gingerbread: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781594634666
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Riverhead Books - March 3rd, 2020

If you enjoyed the dreamy, otherworldly feel of Kafka on the Shore, you might also like the novel Gingerbread by Helen Oyeyemi. The book, which came out in 2019, updates the story of Hansel and Gretel and expands it outward into totally unexpected directions, all within the framework of beautiful, contemporary prose.--Griffin


Staff Pick Badge
The Housekeeper and the Professor: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780312427801
Availability: Not in stock at store. Will, in most instances, ship from our warehouse in 7-10 days
Published: Picador - February 3rd, 2009

If you liked Kafka on the Shore for its evocation of modern Japanese life, you could also be interested in Yoko Ogawa’s The Housekeeper and the Professor. Ogawa, whose dystopian sci-fi novel The Memory Police debuted in English in 2019, wrote this earlier novel in 2003, and it tells the story of a curmudgeonly mathematics professor who comes to befriend his housekeeper and her young son. Like Kafka on the Shore, it also features a mystery from the past that the characters must uncover; overall, a delightful and touching work by one of Japan’s best modern authors.--Griffin


Staff Pick Badge
The Master and Margarita: 50th-Anniversary Edition (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) Cover Image
By Mikhail Bulgakov, Richard Pevear (Translated by), Larissa Volokhonsky (Translated by), Boris Fishman (Foreword by), Christopher Conn Askew (Illustrator)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143108276
Availability: Not in stock at store. Will, in most instances, ship from our warehouse in 7-10 days
Published: Penguin Classics - May 3rd, 2016

If you appreciated Kafka on the Shore as a work of magical realism, you might enjoy one of the earliest works to receive that label--Mikhail Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita. Written under the Stalinist regime of the early 20th century, and not published until 1967, when the manuscript was smuggled to Paris, this book has it all: political satire, Satan as a socialite, a shape-shifting cat, witches flying by moonlight. One of the greats.--Griffin


Kafka on the Shore (Vintage International) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781400079278
Availability: On our shelves now. We will confirm availability.
Published: Vintage - January 3rd, 2006