Welcome to Subterranean Books.  
Thanks for checking in.
 
______________________________________________________________
 

Kelly

Kelly

 

Trying in vain to keep up with the endless trail of review copies...

_______________________________

 

Staff Pick Logo
Jubilee Manor Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780803739499
Availability: Special Order, May be Out of Print
Published: Dial Books - August 11th, 2015

-- Kelly's pick

 

The thrilling conclusion to "Landry Park" is full of love, betrayal, and murder--perfect for fans of "Divergent," "The Selection," and "Pride and Prejudice " 

In "Landry Park," Madeline turned her back on her elite family, friends, and estate to help the Rootless. Now, in "Jubilee Manor," she struggles to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together. But when Gentry heirs--Madeline's old friends--are murdered, even she begins to think a Rootless is behind it, putting her at odds with the boy she loves and the very people she is trying to lead. If she can't figure out who is killing her friends and bring them to justice, a violent war will erupt and even more will die--and Madeline's name, her estate, and all the bonds she's forged won't make any difference. 

This conclusion to "Landry Park," which "VOYA" dubbed ""Gone with the Wind "meets "The Hunger Games,"" is a richly satisfying, addictive read.


Staff Pick Logo
Silver in the Blood Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781619634312
Availability: Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - July 7th, 2015

--Kelly's pick

 

As spoiled society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about their mysterious Romanian relatives, the Florescus. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their family, find proper husbands, and-most terrifyingly-learn the secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, bound by a centuries-old tradition to do the bidding of the royal Dracula family and it is time for Dacia and Lou to take their place among the ranks. But when the devilish heir, Mihai Dracula sets his sights on Dacia as part of his plan to secure power over all of Europe, the girls choose to fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might. Only the dashing Lord Johnny Hardcastle and the mysterious Theophilus Arkady- members of a secret society charged with ridding the world of monsters-can help Dacia and Lou, but breaking the shackles of their upbringing will require more courage than the girls ever imagined.

The thrilling start to a richly drawn, romance-filled series, this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives will have readers coming back for more.


Staff Pick Logo
Kitchens of the Great Midwest Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780525429142
Availability: Special Order, May be Out of Print
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - July 28th, 2015

-- Kelly's pick

 

Already a hotly anticipated debut--about a young woman with a once-in-a-generation palate who becomes the iconic chef behind the country's most coveted dinner reservation 

When Lars Thorvald's wife, Cynthia, falls in love with wine--and a dashing sommelier--he's left to raise their baby, Eva, on his own. He's determined to pass on his love of food to his daughter--starting with purEed pork shoulder. As Eva grows, she finds her solace and salvation in the flavors of her native Minnesota. From Scandinavian lutefisk to hydroponic chocolate habaneros, each ingredient represents one part of Eva's journey as she becomes the star chef behind a legendary and secretive pop-up supper club, culminating in an opulent and emotional feast that's a testament to her spirit and resilience. 

Each chapter in J. Ryan Stradal's startlingly original debut tells the story of a single dish and character, at once capturing the zeitgeist of the Midwest, the rise of foodie culture, and delving into the ways food creates community and a sense of identity. By turns quirky, hilarious, and vividly sensory, " Kitchens of the Great Midwest" is an unexpected mother-daughter story about the bittersweet nature of life--its missed opportunities and its joyful surprises. It marks the entry of a brilliant new talent.


Staff Pick Logo
Fairest: The Lunar Chronicles: Levana's Story Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250060556
Availability: Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - January 27th, 2015

--Kelly's pick.  I love this series.


The Scorch Trials Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780385738767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - September 13th, 2011

The Death Cure Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780385738781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - January 8th, 2013

The Kill Order Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780385742894
Availability: Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - January 7th, 2014

Staff Pick Logo
The Wicked Will Rise Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062280701
Availability: Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - March 31st, 2015

--Kelly's pick.


Staff Pick Logo
Station Eleven Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780385353304
Availability: Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - September 9th, 2014

--Kelly's pick

One snowy night Arthur Leander, a famous actor, has a heart attack onstage during a production of "King Lear." Jeevan Chaudhary, a paparazzo-turned-EMT, is in the audience and leaps to his aid. A child actress named Kirsten Raymonde watches in horror as Jeevan performs CPR, pumping Arthur's chest as the curtain drops, but Arthur is dead. That same night, as Jeevan walks home from the theater, a terrible flu begins to spread. Hospitals are flooded and Jeevan and his brother barricade themselves inside an apartment, watching out the window as cars clog the highways, gunshots ring out, and life disintegrates around them. 
Fifteen years later, Kirsten is an actress with the Traveling Symphony. Together, this small troupe moves between the settlements of an altered world, performing Shakespeare and music for scattered communities of survivors. Written on their caravan, and tattooed on Kirsten's arm is a line from "Star Trek: " "Because survival is insufficient." But when they arrive in St. Deborah by the Water, they encounter a violent prophet who digs graves for anyone who dares to leave. 


Fat Girl Walking: Sex, Food, Love, and Being Comfortable in Your Skin...Every Inch of It Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062343031
Availability: Special Order, May be Out of Print
Published: Dey Street Books - May 19th, 2015

Dear person holding Fat Girl Walking

First of all, thanks for picking up this copy of my first book. I hope you buy it--and not just because each purchase gets me one step closer to buying the leather pants of my dreams.

I hope you buy Fat Girl Walking because I want to start a conversation. Or continue a conversation, one I inadvertently started a while ago when I took my clothes off on a stage in front of 700 people. A lot of people thought I was awesome for doing that. A lot of others thought a size 18 woman had absolutely no business showing off her body. Unfortunately for them, I've made it my personal mission on my blog, in social media, on television, and now in this amazing book you're holding, to destroy the ridiculous myth that every woman who is overweight hates her body and herself. I, Brittany Gibbons, and the Curvy Girls I speak to every day on the internet, beg to differ. We love our bodies. We love fashion. We are in loving relationships, having lots of sex. We aren't just a fetish, we're normal women. Sure, sometimes we doubt ourselves, we're not robots, but not anymore than EVERY OTHER WOMAN ON THE PLANET. See, Fat Girls aren't freaks of nature. We're just like you. Maybe we are you.


Legend Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780142422076
Availability: Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: Speak - April 16th, 2013

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem. 


From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths - until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets. 


Staff Pick Logo
The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780316055444
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - April 7th, 2015

--Kelly's pick

Theo Decker, a 13-year-old New Yorker, miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother. Abandoned by his father, Theo is taken in by the family of a wealthy friend. Bewildered by his strange new home on Park Avenue, disturbed by schoolmates who don't know how to talk to him, and tormented above all by his longing for his mother, he clings to the one thing that reminds him of her: a small, mysteriously captivating painting that ultimately draws Theo into the underworld of art. 


As an adult, Theo moves silkily between the drawing rooms of the rich and the dusty labyrinth of an antiques store where he works. He is alienated and in love--and at the center of a narrowing, ever more dangerous circle. 


Charlotte's Web Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780064400558
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTrophy - April 10th, 2012

Charlotte's Web is the story of a little girl named Fern who loved a little pig named Wilbur—and of Wilbur's dear friend Charlotte A. Cavatica, a beautiful large grey spider who lived with Wilbur in the barn.

With the help of Templeton, the rat who never did anything for anybody unless there was something in it for him, and by a wonderfully clever plan of her own, Charlotte saved the life of Wilbur, who by this time had grown up to quite a pig.

How all this comes about is Mr. White's story. It is a story of the magic of childhood on the farm. The thousands of children who loved Stuart Little, the heroic little city mouse, will be entranced with Charlotte the spider, Wilbur the pig, and Fern, the little girl who understood their language.


Staff Pick Logo
The Lemoncholy Life of Annie Aster Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781492612469
Availability: Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - August 4th, 2015

--Kelly's pick

Annabelle Aster doesn't bow to convention-not even that of space and time-which makes the 1890s Kansas wheat field that has appeared in her modern-day San Francisco garden easy to accept. Even more peculiar is Elsbeth, the truculent schoolmarm who sends Annie letters through the mysterious brass mailbox perched on the picket fence that now divides their two worlds.

Annie and Elsbeth's search for an explanation to the hiccup in the universe linking their homes leads to an unsettling discovery-and potential disaster for both of them. Together they must solve the mystery of what connects them before one of them is convicted of a murder that has yet to happen...and yet somehow already did.


Sign Up Now
stlindiebook.com

Affiliate Program